Jeff Pekarek | Yoga  

Jeff Pekarek
To Each Their Own (1982)

Jeff Pekarek released his one vinyl album To Each Their Own in 1982. The album's inclusion and brief writeup in the Acid Archives sort of says it all: "Cosmic folkrock from classically trained bass player."

This review from the Seldom Heard Radio blog elaborates:

Jeff Pekarek & friends started off 1982 by recording this LP in eight hours on January 2nd. Those were the days when engineers, producers and musicians used less digital wizardry and more sweat equity... To Each Their Own starts off with a gorgeous guitar tune (Sunrise) then segues into what sounds like a Billy Bragg inspired sea shanty (Blow Ye Winds). There's traditional music with cello (Devil's Dance / Cuckoo's Nest), a slow sacred music themed burner (Gate Gate) and more. Coming from other artists, this LP might be seen as disconnected, disjointed, and unfocused but Jeff Pekarek's stellar musicianship shines through and unifies To Each Their Own into an adventurous listening experience. Tucked away toward the end of the LP is one of the most beautiful guitar pieces I've heard in ages (Sea Urchin). May Yoga Records keep unearthing these gems that deserve a much wider listening audience."

bandcamp coming soon

Yoga Records